top of page
  • baker

Annabel - by Alya Ali Alhaddad


Cast of Characters

Annabel (a little girl, she is twelve years old, she lives with her grandfather in an old house which located in a small village called Burnsall in Yorkshire city, England)

Clark (her grandfather, he is seventy-nine years old man; he loves Annabel so much and encourage her to reach her dreams, he takes care of her)

Agnes (a young woman, thirty years old woman, who is working as florist in her flower shop in Burnsall village, she knows Annabel as she visits her always to buy flowers, she lives with her husband Charlie in burnsall village)

Alice (a forty-five years old woman, who is working in her own bakery shop in Burnsall village, she lives alone, she a good writer and painter)

Time

In the past, 1960.

BACKGROUND

Small village behind the bridge, there are small houses beside the river, small shops in the other side of the village, there are some flowers and trees fill the place.


AT THE BEGINNING

Annabel singing and dancing near the river while it is raining outside, her grandfather calls her to get inside.


Clark (grandpa)

(he worried about her; he calls her with his shivering voice)

Annabel, Annabel, come inside, you must be sick after playing in this bad weather, it is so cold outside hurry up we must eat, it is lunch time, come in.

Annabel

(she is very grateful for this moment, Happy, dancing and singing her favorite song)

It is raining over me I am flying, I am flying, I am flying like birds over clouds. Wait dad, I am coming in minutes.

Clark (grandpa)

Oh god, the food is cold; what a hard weather! Come in Annabel everything is freeze even me. (he sits with a smile on his face, Annabel enter the house). Oh, you are so wet Anna; this is bad. After you finish your meal, you will change your dress, alright?

Annabel

Alright, but I am not sure about this, look, every tree and flower outside calling me! But I will change my dress if you want. (she smiles, kiss her grandpa and running out after she finished).

Clark (grandpa)

(he laughs). This quarrelsome girl. take care Anna I love you (he tells her loudly).

(pause)

Annabel

Hello, Mrs. Agnes, I am here. (she is panting)

Agnes

Hi, sweetie, what are you doing out in this bad weather? You should be home, Anna. (she said with amazement)

Annabel

Come on, it is raining; this is very beautiful thing, isn’t it? What do you think if you have dinner with us tonight? We will have fun together. (she is very excited)

Agnes

(she responds quickly) Such a good idea! Yes, sure I will come to visit you and Mr. Clark, sounds exciting Anna. (she kisses her and gives her a flower). See you then sweetie.

Annabel

(she is jumping with big smile) Yes, yes, Great! I will invite Ms. Alice to join us tonight.

Agnes

This will be great, Anna, see you all then. (she is waving her hand) good-bye sweetie)

(pause, to the dinner time)

(it is eight p.m. someone knocks the door)

Annabel

(running to the door). Yes, I’m coming. (she opens the door). yay, Mrs. Agnes, and Ms. Alice here, come in grandpa is waiting for you all. (she is very happy, smiling and looks exciting)

Agnes

(she smiles) Hello sweetheart, thank you (she hugs Annabel). Good evening Mr. Clark, how are you? It is nice to see you today.

Clark (grandpa)

(he laughs kindly) Good evening Mrs. Agnes, I am fine, thank you for joining us tonight it is nice to see you again. How is Mr. Charlie doing? I hope he is well…

(they are talking with each other, asking each other)

Clark (grandpa)

(he is lit the candles on the wooden dining table) please, have a seat it is dinner time, come in Anna, she is always late on meals.

Agnes & Alice

(laughing) she will come now; she must be hungry as we are. Thank you, Mr. Clark, come in Anna. (call her loudly)

Annabel

(she is running and holding a paper plane with her hand) wee, look at what I’ve made, the first talking paper plane! Look it is talking (she makes small noises “hello, I am Anna’s paper plane, I’m talking”)

(all are laughing)

Alice

(she is exciting and surprised) Wow, what amazing paper plane! Show me what you’ve done.

Let us make another one, a very big one! come here.

Clark (grandpa)

(laughing) Woo, this is my girl, she loves to create paper planes and boats. Ms. Alice seem to be talented in handcrafts.

Agnes

(she smiles) yes, Ms. Alice is very talented in this kind of arts. Also, she is a good painter and writer.

Alice

(smiles, remember something from the past) yes, I love these things as Anna, this remind me something from my childhood, when I was 10, I was stole my old brother things in the night and start to create things using them, sometimes I was draw on the floor using coal.( laughing about herself)

(all are laughing about this memory and start sharing some old memories)

(the night ended with happy memories; they left Mr. Clark house)

Annabel

(she is laying down on her wooden bed) Dad, do you think one day could someone fly to the moon?

Clark (grandpa)

(he smiles and fondle her head) the most unique thing you have is dreaming, you are a dreamer; you have big dreams and hopes, and I love this in my sweetie and lovely girl. You know what, yes, they will fly to the moon, and you will be the first human walking on the moon. I believe in you Anna; you are my hero.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Elevator - by Noran Alaa Morsi

CHARACTERS Lama - 22 year old college student Sara - Lama’s single mother. 48 years old Hamed - Sara’s brother. 40 years old Mohamed - 23 year old college student OFFSTAGE Youssef - Lama’s 14 year old

Once a jester, always a jester - By Mohamed Lotfy

Characters: Anum, the court jester. King Dryhtweras Dwaes, the court alchemist Feohgitsung, Anum’s wife. The year is 1314. A few hours before sunrise, in the middle of December of our calendar, sleeps

bottom of page