top of page
  • baker

Mozart - by Thilleli Ghezzaz

[The evening stretches against the sky. The sun rips the horizon. Like every Thursday, Ghania and Sherif invited their son Khaled and his girlfriend Leila over for dinner. Khaled and Leila like to come by foot. They are walking the few meters left.]

Leila: Ta-da !

Khaled: Oh wow, a paper plane ! Did it hurt ?

Leila: Nah, just the last 20 minutes.

Khaled: Hum, how long did it take?

Leila: 20 minutes.

[Both laugh as they reach the doorway. Khaled knocks on the door, quickly opened.]

Ghania: Oh thank God, you are here! I was worried.

Khaled: What’s wrong ?

[Khaled and Leila bend over to remove their shoes.]

Ghania: You didn’t see the news ?

Leila: Nah, what did they say ?

[Sherif is in the kitchen, sitting, smoking, holding his newspaper.]

Sherif: That virus has been propagating and it has reached the city. Officials call for a curfew. Starts tonight and then isolation for God-knows how long.

[Khaled, one sock on, one sock off, says helplessly:]

Khaled: Are you kidding me ? I am supposed to be in Rabat next week for the application launch.

Ghania: Well, sorry honey, seems like you are stuck with us.

[Ghania pats Khaled’s shoulder to console him.]

Sherif: You guys sit down, I am starving.

[Leila got to the kitchen’s sink to wash her hands.]

Leila: What is that smell ? You made Tajine ?

Sherif: No, that’s the candle’s scent, got it from the oriental store.

[They all join Sherif at the table]

Khaled: Ah crap, the food is cold.

Ghania: It is okay, give me that, I will heat it up for you.

[Ghania puts the plate into the microwave.]

Leila: Well, if we are all stuck together, I may play a piece later!

Ghania: Hum, don’t think that is possible...

Khaled: How so ?

Sherif: Sold the keyboard last week...

Khaled: Oh my god! Are you insane ? Who’s the buyer ? I am getting it back. Why did no one tell me about this ?

[Ghania gives back his plate to Khaled, sits back down on her chair.]

Ghania: Honey, calm down!

Leila: My love, it is fine, it is not a big deal, we’ll get a new one from Craig’s list.

[Khaled stands up. Walks to the window. And takes a deep breath.]

Khaled: When I was a kid, I ... I used to stick some cotton around my head, and wear tights, pretend I was, Mozart or whatever and would strike some keys for mom and dad.

Leila: It is a lovely story…

[Khaled turns back to face her.]

Khaled: It was the only gift I had from my real parents.

[Sherif drops his fork, looks up to Khaled and freezes.]

Leila: Wait, what ?

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Elevator - by Noran Alaa Morsi

CHARACTERS Lama - 22 year old college student Sara - Lama’s single mother. 48 years old Hamed - Sara’s brother. 40 years old Mohamed - 23 year old college student OFFSTAGE Youssef - Lama’s 14 year old

Once a jester, always a jester - By Mohamed Lotfy

Characters: Anum, the court jester. King Dryhtweras Dwaes, the court alchemist Feohgitsung, Anum’s wife. The year is 1314. A few hours before sunrise, in the middle of December of our calendar, sleeps

bottom of page