top of page
  • baker

Pebbles and Planes: 684 Days in Eternity - by Mohamed Hamad and Karim Hamad

A Dimly lit cave. There is a small hole in the back wall - just about big enough to let in a ray of daylight when the sun is up. downstage and to the right a stalactite slowly drips water into a concave boulder positioned perfectly to collect the dripping water. Center stage is a significantly larger boulder.

Agot and Beedo sit on opposite sides of the Boulder both seem to be chained at the ankle, both chains extending behind the Boulder. Agot is sitting stage right of the boulder staring at the hole in the wall. Beedo is sitting stage left of the wall clicking different pebbles to each other making various sounds.

Beedo is visually impaired.

Agot: Every morning! Every morning at the crack of dawn you sit here smashing your rocks and making a ruckus. Every. Fucking. Morning. For an eternity!

Beedo: An eternity? Has it been that long? A bit dramatic don't you think? If we're here for an eternity I might as well get creative. I've been experimenting with a new genre of music. (smashing more rocks) Thinking of calling it "Rock"

Agot is not amused.

Beedo: You really want to know about the rocks?

Agot: Please enlighten me.

Beedo: Are you sure? The explanation is quite complicated. You might not be ready for it. Do you have the time to listen?

Agot: I have nothing but time.

Beedo: You will need more than all the time in the world to understand the genius that is me.

Agot: The genius that is I!

Beedo (sharply): You're always trying to take credit for my work, trying to be some kind of bright guy. I have seen your ideas. Your idea got us thrown into this cave. Stealing chickens! An eternity in a cave for stealing chickens! There is only one genius in this cave and it is me, Beedo.

Agot (correcting): There is only one genius in this cave and it is I, Beedo.

Beedo: Taking my idea wasn't enough for you? Now you're after my name? You wanna be Beedo so badly you can serve Beedo's sentence. Without the burden of being Beedo, I'll go out and feel the sun on my entire body all at once while you, the Beedo formally known as Agot, can stay here and rot. I'll live out the rest of my life without a name. I am used to it. I was always no one. That's how they were able to throw me in here without anyone ever thinking to come ask about me, to come find me, to wonder about my whereabouts or even pray for my safe return. You want to be the genius that is Beedo by all means go ahead but figure out the secret to my rock smashing on your own because I'm not telling you.

Agot: We're not in here for stealing chickens.

Beedo: That was your take away from all this? The blasted chickens?! (cools down) I'll tell you the secret of the rocks but I don't think your mind is advanced enough to appreciate it.

Agot: My impish mind lays in wait. Thirsting for enlightenment.

Beedo: And it will continue to thirst until it bursts. Alright here it is...the food is cold.

Agot: What?

Beedo: The food. Is cold.

Agot: What does that have to do with rocks? Have you been eating rocks? I know your eyes don't work but I thought your taste buds did..

Beedo: The food is cold!

Agot: Are you having a stroke? ( Realizes) Oh wait, the yeah...Well the baker spat in his shoe.

Beedo: Finally! You keep forgetting the phrase!

Agot: What's the point of a phrase? We're the only people here.

Beedo: I can't see you. How else would I know that someone didn't switch places with you in the middle of the night? Talking to me as if they are you, just to get at my secrets.

Agot: You wouldn't be able to tell it's me by the sound of my voice?

Beedo: I've been here so long I forgot what other voices sound like. Besides, you gotta be cautious. Better safe than sorry. Otherwise you get caught, like how you sold drugs to that policeman and got us locked in here. You gotta verify identities. Learn from your mistakes!

Agot (somberly): You're right. That's why we're here.

Beedo: Cheer up, brother. I'll tell you about the rocks.

Agot: Please! I've been waiting an eternity to find out.

Beedo: You keep saying "eternity" but it hasn't been that long. That's impossible and the proof is in the pebbles. Every morning, when i feel the sunshine on my face i hit one pebble against the other. When I started I hit the smallest pebble against this slightly larger pebble once, the day after I hit it twice, and then three times and so on until I reached ten days, then I clicked the slightly larger pebble against this even bigger pebble to signify ten days. The day after I clicked pebble one to pebble two and then two to three making...

Agot (excited): Eleven days!

Beedo: Yes! You're getting it! I worked my way up to today.

Beedo clicks two really big pebbles together 6 times, the smaller of the two pebbles to a slightly smaller pebble 8 times and then clicks the smallest pebble to the middle sized pebble 4 times.

Beedo: Six hundred and eighty four days.

Agot: Amazing! So it's been six hundred and eighty four days since we've been here? That's brilliant.

Beedo: No it's been six hundred eighty four days since I started clicking these rocks!

Agot: Okay, but when did you start?

Beedo: Six hundred eighty four days ago. It's like you're not even listening. Every time I have higher hopes for your intelligence you manage to let me down.

Agot (frustrated): Yes but when did you start keeping track? How long since we were left here? How long have we been here?

Beedo (beat): Hell if I know, an eternity probably.

Agot lets out a frustrated groan.

Beedo: I know what will cheer you up. It's that time of day again. Go over to the pile and fetch me a paper.

Agot: Now?

Beedo: Yes, now! I'm in the mood.

Agot walks over to a paper plane center stage. He takes it in his hand and unfolds it. Turning it back into a piece of paper.

Beedo: I still don't understand why your chain lets you walk around while I'm stuck with this short one that limits my movement. Bet you're thrilled. For once in your life you got something longer than mine. (laughs) Jokes on you though because you gotta do all my dirty work, if you know what I mean. That reminds me you gotta start waking up earlier. My bowels are early risers. I tried waking you up after I was finished but you wouldn't budge. Strange because you're usually a light sleeper. I hate sleeping in my own filth!

Agot passes the paper to Beedo. Beedo fashions it into a paper plane and throws it. It flies and lands near the same spot Agot picked it up from. Beedo laughs with glee.

Beedo: Always cheers me up.

Agot: It's not like you can see it fly.

Beedo: There's this feeling of power I get. Like I'm a catalyst making things happen. It's a great feeling. One day I'm gonna have you go count the planes landing in that pile and tell me how many times I've felt this way.

Agot looks at the one, lonely plane on the ground.

Beedo: Strange that they left us so much paper. So many dead trees. Guess it's fitting since we're in here for burning down that forest. It's poetic justice. It's crazy, right? At least six hundred eighty four days and we've never run out of paper.

Agot: The easiest way to lose a blessing is to question it.

Beedo: Is that why you never question your longer chain?

Agot: You see that as a blessing but for me it's a curse. Waiting on you hand and foot. Your paradise is my hell.

Beedo: You think this is paradise?

Agot: Maybe it is, or maybe it's hell. Eternal damnation.

Beedo: It's not eternal!

Agot moves to get water from stalactite.

Beedo: I'll tell you something though. I'd rather have more range of motion. Eternal damnation goes by a lot smoother when you can do some yoga.

Agot brings a cup of water to Beedo and helps him drink. Beedo does not need the assistance but delightfully accepts it.

Agot: Your mouth is capable of speech and snores, if only it would learn silence.

Beedo: Truth be told brother.

Beedo looks at Agot with admiration. As if he is about to thank him. Agot anticipates the gratitude.

Beedo: Truth be told is what brought us here in the first place. They couldn't stand me telling the truth, they thought me blind even when I could see. Remember when I could see with these old eyes of mine, brother. Remember the river and the mountains. The red birds that used to fly over them. It does feel like an eternity ago. We were so young when we would sit by the river and watch those birds going by.

Agot: You used to wait until my eyes followed their flight...then you'd push me into the river and laugh.

Beedo (laughs): You splashing around the water is the sight I miss most. I can see now more than I ever saw then. More than they ever saw. I saw more truth. They blinded me for it. Threw me in here thinking they've imprisoned me. (angry) They are the prisoners. Prisoners of their existence. Slaves to their own lies. These lies that hey have told, retold and continued to uphold. Their prison is as eternal as ours, even more so. At least I'm keeping count.

The brothers are silent for a beat.

Beedo (coldly): Perhaps we're better off dead.

Agot: Don't say that! We won't be here forever. Life's waiting for us when we're finally out.

Beedo: You aren't listening, Agot. There is no getting out. This is our eternity. Death is the only exit and even that isn't certain. We could already be dead as far as we know.

Agot: We are not dead.

Beedo: What makes you so sure?

Agot: Dead people don't sleep in their own filth.

Beedo: Lo and Behold! My brother has become an expert on the dead. You are wrong. I've seen dead people in their own filth.

Agot: Yes, but have you seen them playing with rocks?

Beebo responds with an annoyed look. They hear a noise from outside the cave.

Beedo: What's that? It sounds like it's coming from outside.

A Traveler appears at the entrance. He is holding a lit candle.

Agot: It's probably birds.

Beedo: I know what birds sound like, brother.

Agot: Does it really matter? I need to take a piss. Look away.

Beedo: Look away? I'm blind!

Agot: I know that, but I still can't do it with you looking at me.

Beedo turns around, away from the Traveler. Agot walks towards the traveler but his chains stop him halfway. He quietly detaches the chain and continues toward the traveler.

Agot: Okay, I'm pissing!

Beedo: I don't hear anything.

Agot: I'm a quiet pisser.

Beedo: No you're not!

With his mouth, Agot imitates the sound of urinating.

Beedo: Agot, I don't want to alarm you but you might need medical attention.

The traveler sees Agot.

Traveler: Greetings. I saw this cave on my travels and thought it would be a good place to stop for the night. I did not know there were others here.

Beedo: Who are you talking to?!

Agot (to Beedo): No one! (to Traveler) Lower your voice.

Beedo: You're talking to someone!

Agot: That's my echo!

Beedo (to himself): The first sign of losing one's sanity is talking to oneself. I fear it may have already happened for my dear brother, Agot. His mind is not as strong or equipped to handle these conditions. It's up to you, Beedo, as it always is. You must be the one to see us through this hell.

Traveler (to Agot): What's wrong with him?

Agot: A long time ago my brother Beedo slaughtered a village. Doesn't even remember doing it. It was like he was possessed. He kept yelling about freeing them from their shackles. He was banished and locked away in here for the safety of himself and others.

Traveler (backing away, wary): What about you? Your actions must have been equally atrocious if you are sharing his predicament.

Agot: It is true that I am a prisoner too, but I am only a prisoner by choice. Beedo is blind and cannot see that my chains are not attached to me. I could walk away with you right now. I could have gone at any time, but I can not bring myself to walk away from him.

Traveler: Perhaps you should. He seems dangerous.

Agot: As bad as he seems now he would be even worse on his own. I like to think being here with him makes a difference.

Beedo: What's taking so long? You got pissing problems? How are you struggling with something babies do with instinctive ease? (laughing) Get back here and I'll demonstrate! Bring the bucket!

Traveler: It does not seem like it's making a difference.

Agot (sadly): He's talked about killing himself, choking himself with his chain. I watched him take out his own eyes. He's not well. It makes him feel better thinking it's my fault. I don't know if he even understands the extent of what he did, or if his soul could bear the weight. In my attempt to ease his suffering, I have brought it onto myself. I am aware of how strange it must be to confide all this to a stranger, but you are the first other human being I have come across in a long time.

Traveler: I am happy to unburden during my stay.

Agot: You cannot stay here.

Traveler: Why not? I am weary from my travels and the conditions outside are not safe duing the night. I do not see why I cannot spend the night. I will pretend to be a guard that's come to check on you.

Agot: He'll see through that. We've never had guards.

Traveler: I am sure I am more convincing as a guard than I am as an echo.

Agot: You make a decent point, I suppose.

The traveler forces Agot back to his original position.

Traveler: Get back! Back to your place!

Agot: What are you…

Agot picks up his chain and reattaches it to himself.

Beedo: What's happening?

Agot: There's a guard here.

Beedo: So they finally remember Beedo the prisoner of war. After all this time? Why now? Have they come to gloat? Or could this finally be our moment of freedom?

Traveler: What is he talking about?

Agot (whispers): Play along.

The traveler approaches Beedo to get a closer look, the candle still in his hand. Beedo feels the glow from the candle's light. He clicks two pebbles together.

Traveler: What is he doing?

Agot: It is hard to explain.

Beedo: Don't tell him, you fool!

Traveler: I'll be standing guard here for the night. There better not be any funny business.

The traveler returns to the entrance.

Beedo (whispering to Agot): I have a plan.

Agot: You have a plan?

Beedo: This guard they sent must have the keys to our locks. I'll call him over here, then when he comes, you strangle him with your long chain. We pick the keys off of him and earn back our rightful freedom.

Agot: That's not going to work--

Beedo: Just do your part and don't let me down. (to the Traveler) Guard! Guard! Help me!

The Traveler returns to him. Beedo senses the glow of the candle and clicks two pebbles together.

Agot (to Traveler): You should probably put that down.

The traveler nods and places the candle on the ground.

Traveler (to Beedo): What is it?

Beedo: It's my chains. They're choking me. Come look!

The traveler bends down next to Beedo.

Traveler: I don't see anything.

Beedo: Now, Agot!

Traveler: What are you do…

Agot: No!

Agot refuses to act.

Beedo: Why must I always do everything myself?

Beedo wraps his chain around the Traveler's neck.

Agot: Brother stop!

Beedo wraps his chain around the traveler who attempts to break free. Agot watches in horror. Frozen with indecision.

Beedo: Freedom! Grab his keys!

The traveler struggles for air. Agot acts without thinking. He smashes the back of Beedo's head with his chain. Beedo falls to the ground, unconscious.

The traveler gasps for air. He runs. Leaving the cave and his candle behind.

Traveler: I am better off braving the elements outside!

Agot sits alone with his unconscious brother.

Agot: What should I fear more, brother, the possibility that I have killed you or the certainty that I haven't?

Agot walks to the paper plane on the ground and picks it up. He sits by the candle. He holds the plane to the fire and watches it burn. When the plane burns, he blows out the candle.

The End

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Elevator - by Noran Alaa Morsi

CHARACTERS Lama - 22 year old college student Sara - Lama’s single mother. 48 years old Hamed - Sara’s brother. 40 years old Mohamed - 23 year old college student OFFSTAGE Youssef - Lama’s 14 year old

الشرفة - by Martina Ashraf and Amira El Shourbagy

بقلم اميره الشوربجي و السجارة و مارتينا اشرف و الجيتار المكان شرفة شقة مطلة علي شارع الزمان الزمن الاسود الي احنا عايشين فيه الشخصيات ب: فتاة في العشرين م: ام مصريه طحن اخ: شاب (صباح او مساء مش فارقه)

bottom of page